Sweden

Welcome Year 6 - Sweden Class.
General:
 
If you need to see me or your child's set teacher then please arrange a meeting with them via email or through the office. Before school is usually very busy and we want to ensure that we have sufficient time to discuss any concerns.
 
Topic:
  
Term 1 and 2's topic is 'We'll Meet Again'. This topic focuses on WW2. 
Maths:  
 
This year we will be setting for Maths. Year 6 will be taught by either Miss Woffenden and Mrs Craddock or Miss Hale and Mrs Sykes. There will be a new focus every week and children will be set homework by their maths teacher.
 
Literacy:
 
This year we will be setting for Literacy. Year 6 will be taught by Miss Woffenden and Mrs Sykes or Miss Hale and Mrs Craddock. 
 
Reading:
 
Please encourage your child to read to themselves at home every day.
 
Homework:
 
Your child will receive homework every Friday and it is due in on the following Wednesday.  All children will also have spellings to learn weekly which will be tested on a Wednesday. They are expected to return their completed spelling sheet. 
 
PE: 
 
PE kits need to be in school every day. These needs to consist of: black or navy shorts/jogging bottoms, white t-shirt or house t-shirt, trainers and hoodie if needed. Your child will have PE on Wednesdays and Fridays.
 
Woodland Learning: 
 
For these sessions children will need old clothes consisting of: long trousers, long sleeved top, a warm waterproof coat and wellington boots. The children will get dirty in these sessions. This term woodland learning will be on Wednesday.
Dates for the diary:
 
  • Wednesday 11th September - Meet The Teacher
  • Saturday 28th September - Friends Family Fun Day
  • Wednesday 16th September - Open Morning
  • Tuesday 22nd October - Parents Evening
  • Tuesday 22nd October - End of Term 1
  • Wednesday 23rd October - TD Day.
  • Thursday 31st October - Apply for Secondary application. 
  • Monday 4th November- Term 2 starts.
  • Thursday 7th November- Fleet Air Arm
  • Thursday 14th November- Open Morning
  • Thursday 19th December - Class Christmas Parties
  • Friday 20th December - End of Term 2.